Westmoreland County High School Notebook: Southmoreland star chooses Pitt-Greensburg

By means of:

Saturday June 1, 2024 | 11:01 am

Ty Keffer is a dynamic three-sport athlete at Southmoreland.

He lit up the scoreboard in basketball, made leaps in football and struck out countless batters in baseball.

But the athletic Keffer’s top sport is basketball, and he has decided to extend his playing career at a nearby university.

Keffer announced last week that he has committed to play NCAA Division III basketball at Pitt-Greensburg, one of coach Chris Klimchock’s top recruits deciding to stay close to home.

Keffer (6-foot-1, 200 pounds) finished No. 2 on the Scotties boys scoring list with 1,575 career points. As a senior, he averaged 19.6 points, 9.7 rebounds, 3.3 assists and 3.2 steals per game.

The champions are here

Penn-Trafford baseball captured the school’s first WPIAL championship in the sport last week with a 4-3 victory over Bethel Park at Wild Things Park in Washington.

The Warriors became the first Westmoreland County team to win a title since Franklin Regional in 2021. They also joined a long list of local champions.

Franklin Regional leads with three WPIAL championships (2021, ’01, 1997), while Norwin (2016, ’60) and Vandergrift (later Kiski Area) each won two (1949, ’48).

Other county champions include Latrobe (2017), Jeannette (’17), Greensburg Central Catholic (’15), Derry (1984), Burrell (1974), Mt. Pleasant (1970), Kiski Area (1966), Arnold (1965) and Bell Township (1943).

Proctor wins a scholarship

Youth softball senior Katie Proctor was the recipient of the 2024 Allie Markle Memorial Scholarship presented by coach Art “Dutch” Harvey.

The $1,000 scholarship is in the name of Markle, a die-hard Youth softball fan and the late grandmother of the Cougars’ coach.

National hall call

A ceremony to inaugurate three legendary Jeannette football players is fast approaching.

Late coach Joe Mucci and former star quarterbacks Dick Hoak and Terrelle Pryor will be inducted into the National High School Football Hall of Fame during a ceremony June 8 at Umstattd Hall in the Hall of Fame Village in Canton, Ohio.

The National Hall of Fame was founded by Lamont “Showboat” Robinson, a Jeannette alum known for his achievements in comedy basketball as a former player with the Harlem Globetrotters, Harlem Road Kings and Harlem Clowns.

The three former Jayhawks will join 27 others as part of the Class of 2024. Others include Duck Butkus, Eric Dickerson, Orlando Pace, Robert Smith, Doug Williams and Charles Woodson.

Net profit

Norwin had three players make the All-WPIAL Class 3A lacrosse all-star teams.

Senior libero Lucas Churchfield was a first-team selection, while seniors Jackson Genicola (outside hitter) and Troy Horvath (setter) made the second team.

Penn-Trafford senior outside hitters Brad Heinbaugh and Keith Otto were also second-team picks.

The third team consisted of Hempfield senior middle hitter Josh Reilly and Penn-Trafford senior libero Drew Sherwin.


• Basketball great Erica Gribble, a sophomore at Greensburg Central Catholic, added another Division I college scholarship offer. Rhode Island contacted the 6-foot-1 point guard, who averaged 19.4 points for the WPIAL 2A champion Centurions last season.

• Ligonier Valley senior baseball player Leo Bazala signed to play at Mount Aloysius.

• Derry senior Tessa Hayes will continue her track and cross country career at Washington & Jefferson.

• Colin Bush, also a senior from Derry, will play baseball at Penn State Altoona.

• Hempfield footballer Anthony Puskar committed to play for Saint Vincent.

• Franklin Regional senior Tyler Stone will run cross country at Westmoreland County Community College.

Bill Beckner Jr. is a TribLive reporter covering local sports in Westmoreland County. He can be reached at [email protected].

Tags: Burrell, Derry Area, Franklin Regional, Greensburg CC, Jeannette, Kiski Area, Latrobe, Penn-Trafford, Southmoreland

Back To Top