Texas wins the 2024 NCAA Rowing National Championship

BETHEL, OH – Highlighted by victories in the Four and First Varsity Eight Grand Finals, No. 1 Texas Rowing captured its third NCAA National Championship of the last four years on Sunday at Harsha Lake.

Texas became just the third program to win three NCAA titles in a four-year span, joining Brown (1999-2000, ’02) and Ohio State (2013-15). It is also the first time Texas has won two events at the same national championship.

The Longhorns posted an overall program record of 130 points, three points ahead of runner-up Stanford (127). In a close race from start to finish, UT claimed victory in the First Eight over Stanford, the final race of the day, to solidify the national crown in light precipitation. The win makes Texas’ First Eight undefeated in three of the past four seasons.

The Longhorns started off strong with their second straight league title in the Four. UT led the entire race and cruised to an open water victory in 6:59.555. With the win, Texas added 22 points to its total. Texas finished more than four seconds ahead of national number two Princeton, which crossed the line in 7:03.761. Stanford (3rd – 7:04.489), Yale (4th – 7:06.845), Tennessee (5th – 7:07.729) and Washington (6th – 7:14.657) followed.

Texas fought a hard-fought battle in the Second Eight, recording a final time of 6:20.320 – just 2.16 seconds behind first-place Stanford (6:18.156). It is Texas’ highest finish in the II Eight since a second-place finish in 2019. Tennessee followed in third after the Longhorns clocked in at 6:22.830. Washington (4th – 6:24.898), Yale (5th – 6:25.776) and Princeton (6th – 6:32.828) followed in order.

UT closed the national regatta with a thrilling victory in the I Eight (6:09.920) to claim the program’s third Varsity Eight national crown. Princeton had an early lead through the first 500 meters of the race, but Texas quickly gained the lead and never relinquished it during the final 1,500 meters. Texas continued to expand its lead throughout the race, expanding its lead to half a boat length as the Longhorns crossed the finish line.

Stanford finished second in the Varsity Eight with a final time of 6:11.804, followed by Tennessee (6:12.156), Princeton (6:15.556), Brown (6:18.030) and Washington (6:19.232).

Now in his ninth season as head coach at Texas, O’Neill won his third national title. The Longhorns have placed in the top eight nationally in all nine seasons at UT. Historically, O’Neill has coached five varsity eights to national championships, which is the most by a head coach in NCAA history.

The University of Texas now owns 66 all-time national championships (62 NCAA crowns). It is the fourth year in a row that the UT has won multiple national titles in the same academic year.

The third-ranked Tennessee rowing team posted the program’s best-ever NCAA Championship result, finishing third overall and earning a podium finish in two of the three Grand Final events to cap off Big 12 Coach of the Year Kim Cupini’s first season on Rocky Top. Each of the Lady Vols’ three NCAA Championship squads earned top marks based on boat classification. Tennessee’s First Eight took third, the Second Eight crew took third, and the Four boat took fifth place.


Texas’ I Eight: Carly Legenzowski (C), Mette Nielsen, Lanie Nitsch, Anna Jensen, Etta Carpender, Marg Van der Wal, Abby Dawson, Cassandre Korvink-Kucinski and Amber Harwood

Tennessee’s I Eight: 1V8+: Sasha Radovanovic (helmsman), Emma Seawright, Sarah Abrams, Alex Pidgeon, Riley Ferdelman, Meg Flanagan, Alice Fahey, Nicole Campbell, Hannah Smith

Texas’ II Eight: Amy Werner (C), Sue Holderness, Paula Becher, Rhiannon Luke, Allie Alton, Phoebe Wise, Parker Illingworth, Taryn Kooyers and Anna Garrison

Tennessee’s II Eight: Elizabeth Walley (coxswain), Sophie Hill, Megan Hewison, Stella Mirkovic, Paige Reymann, Hannah Richardson, Gracie Condon, Katie Rice, Erin Gifford

Texas’ Four: Janet Goode (C), Nadja Yaroschuk, Phoebe Robinson, Katherine Nordheim and Lucy Searle.

Tennessee’s Four: Laila Irigoyen (helmsman), Maylie Valiquette, Allison Lea, Natalia Loram, Sheya Lavin

Race results

First eight (grand final):

1. #1 Texas (6:09,920)
2. #2 Stanford (6:11,804)

3. #3 Tennessee (6:12.156)
4. #4 Princeton (6:15.556)
5. #8 Brown (6:18.030)
6. #7 Washington (6:19.232)

Second eight (grand final):
1. #2 Stanford (6:18.156)

2. #1 Texas (6:20,320)

3. #3 Tennessee (6:22.830)
4. #7 Washington (6:24,898)
5. #5 Yale (6:25.776)
6. #4 Princeton (6:32,828)

Four (grand final):

1. #1 Texas (6:59,555)
2. #4 Princeton (7:03,761)
3. #2 Stanford (7:04.489)
4. #5 Yale (7:06,845)

5. #3 Tennessee (7:07.729)
6. #7 Washington (7:14.657)

Final team standings:

1. #1 Texas (130 points)
2. #2 Stanford (127 points)

3. #3 Tennessee (118 points)
4. #4 Princeton (112 points)
5. #7 Washington (106 points)
6. #8 Brown (99 points)
7. #9 Michigan (90 points)
8. #5 Yale (88 points)
9. #6 California (84 points)
10. #11 Pennsylvania (77 points)
11. #10 Syracuse (76 points)
12. #15 Ohio State (68 points)
13. #14 Virginia (68 points)
14. #13 Rutgers (55 points)
15. #12 Indiana (47 points)
16. #16 Duke (46 points)
17. Gonzaga (37 points)
18. Northeast (26 points)
19. Boston (24 points)
20. Rhode Island (17 points)
21. SMU (13 points)
22. Jacksonville (10 points)


Back To Top