Moeller pitcher Zion Theophilus named Ohio Gatorade Player of the Year

Moeller junior Zion Theophilus is the 2023-2024 Gatorade Ohio Baseball Player of the Year. Theophilus is the fifth Moeller player to earn this honor.

The award, which recognizes the nation’s top high school athletes for excellence on the field, in the classroom and in the community, distinguishes Theophilus as Ohio’s top high school baseball player.

Past winners include all-time professional greats Gary Sheffield (1985-86, Hillsborough High School, Florida), Alex Rodriguez (1992-93, Westminster Christian School, Florida) and Clayton Kershaw (2005-06, Highland Park High School, Texas).

Theophilus finished the season 10-1 with a 1.15 points average. He struckout 86 batters in 55 innings (1.6 per inning and 11.2 per seven innings) and had 10 complete-game shutouts. Moeller lost 3-0 to Mason last week in the Division I, Region 4 final.

A 2023 WWBA World Championship participant, he is ranked as the nation’s No. 69 prospect in his class by Baseball America.

Theophilus has donated his time as an instructor and mentor for youth baseball pitchers. At his school, he volunteered for two years as an Open House guide and served as shadow host for 8th graders visiting campus.

“Zion was the best pitcher we faced all season and one of the best high school pitchers I have seen in my 39 years of coaching high school baseball,” said Elder High School head coach Mark Thompson. “He always throws with a lot of confidence and poise. Against us we had him on the gun at 95-97 mph in the 7th inning. He didn’t walk a batter and only counted three balls to two batters the entire game. He is just a very special talent.”

Theophilus has maintained a weighted GPA of 4.48 in the classroom. He has made a verbal commitment to play baseball at LSU on a scholarship in the fall of 2025.

Theophilus joins recent Gatorade Ohio Baseball Players of the Year Colt Emerson (2022-23, John Glenn High School), Jacob Miller (2021-22, Liberty Union High School), Josh Laisure (2020-21, Olentangy Orange High School) and Kade Kern (2019-2020, Archbold High School), one of the former state award winners.

Back To Top