Virginia Tech Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2024 Announced

Eight new members of the Virginia Tech Sports Hall of Fame were announced Monday. (Virginia Tech athletics)

Virginia Tech announced its 2024 Sports Hall of Fame class on Monday. The eight members are Jeff Artis-Gray, Larsen Bowker, Duane Brown, Dave Cianelli, Brittany Pryor, Heather Savage, Logan Shinholser and Tyrod Taylor.

The group will be honored at halftime of the Virginia Tech-Rutgers football game on September 21 at Lane Stadium. The Hall of Fame dinner and ceremony is scheduled for Friday, September 20 at The Inn at Virginia Tech.

The Virginia Tech Sports Hall of Fame, founded in 1982, will have 233 members with the additions of the 2024 class.

The Inductees

Jeff Artis-Gray was a five-time All-American for the Hokies in track and field from 2011-2013. As the long jump champion at the 2013 ACC Indoor Championship, he set four school records: two in the long jump (indoor and outdoor), the 60-meter hurdles (indoor) and the 110-meter hurdles (outdoor).

His first All-America honor came at the 2012 NCAA Outdoor Championships, where he was the first leg of the 4x100m relay team that finished 13th and earned second-team All-America honors. A year later, he finished his career with a career-best fifth-place finish at the NCAAs in the long jump with a mark of 7.85 m.

Larsen Bowker coached tennis at Virginia Tech for 18 seasons (1979-98) – 12 with the men’s program and six with the women’s team. On the men’s side, he led the Hokies to three Atlantic 10 championships and two NCAA Regional finals.

He was a two-time conference coach of the year and 1997 NCAA Region I Coach of the Year and developed two of the program’s three All-Americans in Aaron Marchetti (three-time A-10 Player of the Year) and Oliver Mayo (1996 A-10 Player of the Year), both Virginia Tech Sports Hall of Famers. On the women’s team, he coached Andrea Fink, the 1982 Metro Conference singles champion.

Duane Brown was a two-time All-ACC pick who won two ACC title teams in his four-year career with the Hokies from 2004-2007. After starting as a tight end in Blacksburg, he moved to the offensive line, where he started 40 games over his final three seasons.

He was a two-time Offensive Lineman of the Year at the Richmond Touchdown Club and also excelled on special teams. He blocked three kicks during his career, including an extra point and a field goal in the 2007 ACC title game. Brown was a first-round pick in the 2008 NFL Draft by Houston and played for the Texans for ten years before spending five years with Seattle . The five-time Pro Bowler and three-time All-Pro selection is in his third season with the New York Jets.

Duane Brown (76) and Tyrod Taylor (5) are officially in the Virginia Tech Sports Hall of Fame. (Virginia Tech athletics)

Dave Cianelli had a legendary run leading Virginia Tech’s track and field and cross country programs from 2001-24. The 20-time ACC Coach of the Year coached 20 individual national champions, 352 All-Americans, 261 individual ACC champions and 18 ACC Track and Field Performers of the Year.

The Hokies won 22 ACC team titles during his tenure and finished in the top five of the NCAA championships four times. He coached Queen Harrison, who in 2010 won the Bowerman Award, given annually to the nation’s leading track and field athlete. She was one of ten Hokies to qualify for the Olympics under Cianelli’s tutelage.

Brittany Pryor was a six-time All-American and won six ACC Championships in just three athletic seasons at Virginia Tech (2006-2009). She has five top-10 finishes in program history between the shot put, hammer throw, weight throw and discus.

In 2008, Pryor won three conference championships and was the first Hokie to win two ACC indoor titles in shot put (indoor and outdoor) and weight throw in the same season. She finished seventh at the NCAAs three times — twice in shot put, once in hammer throw — and ninth and 11th once each.

Heather Savage was a two-time All-American and two-time ACC Swimming and Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the Hokies from 2010 to 2013. She was dominant in the 100 butterfly – her time of 51.78 seconds is still the school record – and won two conference championships in the event.

Savage was the first women’s swimmer at Virginia Tech to become an All-American by placing seventh in the 100 butterfly at the 2012 NCAA Championships. The following year, she set an undefeated record in the event, winning three ACC titles, including the 200 and 400 medley relays. At the 2013 NCAA Championships, she finished eighth in the 100 butterfly while helping the program to a 21st-place finish.

Logan Shinholser was an incredible diver in his four years at Virginia Tech from 2009-13. The program’s most decorated athlete, he was a four-time All-American and the Hokies’ only ACC men’s diving champion.

A four-time NCAA qualifier, he won gold at the 2012 ACC Championships in the 1-meter and 3-meter events and was named ACC Diver of the Year. Shinholser was a four-time All-ACC Academic Honoree and was named the 2012-2013 ACC Men’s Swimming and Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Outside of Blacksburg, he represented the United States and competed in the 2012 Olympic Trials.

2009 Virginia Tech Football Schedule
Tyrod Taylor is a Virginia Tech Sports Hall of Famer. (Technological sideline)

Tyrod Taylor was a three-time ACC champion, the 2010 ACC Player of the Year and the 2010 conference title game’s most valuable player. He played for the Hokies from 2007-2010, posting a 34-8 record and earning the most wins by a starting quarterback in program history. He ranks second all-time at Tech in career passing yards with 7,017 and 15th in career rushing yards with 2,196, the most of any quarterback.

In 2010, he completed 24 touchdown passes, the second-best single-season mark in school history, while helping Tech to an 11-3 record. Taylor was selected by Baltimore in the 2011 NFL Draft and won a Super Bowl as a backup in 2012. As a 2015 Pro Bowler with Buffalo, he set the single-season franchise record for rushing yards by a quarterback (568). He currently plays for the New York Jets and has 12,135 career passing yards and 65 touchdowns to his name.

Back To Top